Category: General

Autonomous freighters?

Automotive companies and research institutes are working under high pressure to develop autonomous and highly automated vehicles. However, the matter of “autonomous driving” is not only a current and relevant one in relation to roads and rails. Autonomous driving also holds great potential for (inland) shipping.

Inland waterway vessels are versatile, efficient, climate-friendly and safe — they are also essential for freight transport. A modern motorized freight vessel can replace between 90 and 150 trucks.

However, accordingly large inland vessels cannot navigate all waterways. They can also only call at destinations that offer appropriate loading facilities and container terminals. On the other hand, inland transport with smaller, more flexible ships is often simply not worthwhile — in part due to a lack of skilled personnel.

On the opportunities and obstacles of automation

Automation can counteract this shortage of skilled labor, make the industry overall more attractive and allow smaller ships to become more competitive. Improved sensor technology and smart choices regarding which routes to take at what speed can save energy and prevent accidents.

What, then, are the obstacles we face in regards to automation in inland waterway transportation? Well, whereas on the road the development of autonomous driving is carried along by vehicle manufacturers, the ship's engine and space have a comparatively long lifespan and thus a significantly longer development cycle. External impetus is needed here to drive innovation forward.

Due to the complex traffic situation of branched waterways, sluice gates, high traffic volume, etc. found in inland waterways compared to the high seas, such assistance systems as they are commonplace on seagoing vessels are hardly ever used on inland waterway vessels.

Autonomous vs. Automated

Although the two terms are often used synonymously, they do not mean the same thing:

Autonomous — Ideally, an "autonomously" operating inland waterway vessel would be able to make trips in a self-determined manner, or at the very least independently and without human intervention. It would be able to participate fully in ongoing traffic, i.e. follow traffic regulations, carry out overtaking maneuvers and sluice gate passages, adapt its route to dynamic conditions and adhere to a schedule.

Automatic/automated — Here, a distinction can be made between several levels of automation, but as a general rule, automated driving plainly refers to propulsion and maneuvering operations. Any interaction with other traffic participants is handled by humans, as is control of the vessel in the event of a failure or malfunction of the automatic control system.

Remotely controlled — A skipper can control the vessel from any location and has power over all operations necessary for control. This method requires a reliable data connection.

Clearly, „autonomous" or "automated" is not synonymous with "unmanned". On board a ship, there are more tasks than just steering the vessel. Additional tasks include inspection, maintenance and repairs. If a ship is unmanned, such tasks would have to be performed either by machines or, after docking, by shore personnel.

The current status of autonomous and automated shipping

The greatest challenge in autonomous and automated shipping is the interpretation of highly complex traffic scenarios and the resulting options for action. This is particularly true in inland waterway transport. Considerations and approaches to solutions for this challenge have been around for a few years. Initial projects are underway, including at the Entwicklungszentrum für Schiffstechnik und Transportsysteme e. V. (Development Center for Ship Technology and Transport Systems) in Duisburg, Germany, with whom we have had a working relationship for several years now. One of their focal points is the research of new developments for inland navigation.

The experimental vessels that have overwhelmingly been used for such projects up until now have always had their limitations regarding their suitability to generate data applicable to real-world environments. Research projects such as ELLA and Smart & Green are intended to change this.

The inland freighter of the future

ELLA is "a model-scale development platform for maneuver automation" (DST). In other words, it is a battery-powered inland vessel model built to a scale of 1:6 and intended for research into highly automated driving on inland waterways. It is suitable for use on canals and lakes. Due to its driving characteristics and hull shape, it should allow the transfer of observations and research results to industrially used inland vessels on a wholly different level than it was possible up until now.

ELLA is meant to plan and execute docking and casting-off maneuvers, as well as sluice gate and bridge passages autonomously. This would make it the world's first inland waterway vessel model capable of fully autonomous operation. It would provide a unique opportunity to collect empirical data in terms of parameters such as environmental recognition, path planning and path tracking that can be transferred to "real" inland waterway vessels.

We are currently in the middle of the construction phase with the aim of delivering ELLA to its future location in the fall of this year and handing it over to the DST ready for operation. In order to enable further experimental setups, ELLA has a modular design and is equipped with all the control elements and operating controls required for inland vessels. These are being developed in parallel with the model’s construction at the University of Duisburg-Essen by the Mechatronics Department. The front and rear hulls of ELLA are each made of glass fiber reinforced plastic (GRP) and complement a steel midship. Individually removable ballast tanks adjust the weight carried.

ELLA's "home port" will probably be the Waltrop lock park, which with the old Henrichenburg ship lift — now the LWL Industrial Museum — will soon not only represent the history and the present of inland navigation, but will also build a bridge to the future with ELLA.

Autonomous driving is possible even under water

ELLA is not the first project of this kind for us, although it is the largest to date. Since 2009, in addition to our own developments, we have been working together with research institutions on innovative projects in connection with special water vehicles. As recently as March of this year, the autonomous water robot DeepLeng built by us for the Deutsches Forschungszentrum für Künstliche Intelligenz (DFKI) in Bremen was successfully tested in the Abisko National Park in Sweden. The long-term goal of the Eurex-Luna project is to explore Jupiter's moon Europa, where water is suspected to be hidden beneath a mile-thick layer of ice. Fascinated, we were able to watch via livestream how DeepLeng mastered its test run.

ELLA is a challenge in many ways. However: not only on the road, but also on the water, the future is electric, autonomous and modular.

Are natural fiber reinforced plastics worth it?

In October 2021, we presented the AquaSpeeder, which we had developed on behalf of a private investor, to the public. However, the project is far from over for us. Even at the beginning of the development phase, the idea to further optimize the due to its electric propeller drive already environmentally friendly AquaSpeeder had been on our minds.

The hull of the AquaSpeeder is built from fiberglass composite using a lightweight construction method — a process in which glass fibers are embedded in a matrix of epoxy resin. They then ensure that the forces that act on it are introduced into the component in a targeted manner. The result is a highly stable yet lightweight hull.

However, glass fibers have the disadvantage that they are neither renewable nor biodegradable — in contrast to natural fibers.

Are natural fibers the solution?

They are, in any case, an alternative that can and should be considered more closely.
As the name suggests, natural fibers are of both animal and plant origin, with the majority of plant fibers used in fiber composites being from plants such as flax, hemp, jute, kenaf, sisal and abaca.

Natural fiber reinforced plastics, or NFRP for short, have so far mainly been used in the automotive industry, e.g. for the interior paneling of doors. They offer high rigidity with low density. In short: they are extremely resilient and light at the same time.

Here's a small density comparison:

Steel — 7.9 g/cc.
Fiberglass — 2.7 g/cc.
Carbon Fiber — 1.8 g/cc.
Flax fiber — 1.4 g/cc.

Since hemp, flax and the like are renewable raw materials that — depending on the plant — can be grown on almost every continent, a constant supply could be guaranteed. They cause less CO2 during production and also bind CO2 from the atmosphere while the plant is growing. Natural fiber reinforced plastics offer good thermal and sound insulation. Up to 100% of the cutting waste that occurs in the processing can be reused.

In addition, resins are now available with 50% of the carbon content derived from plants, which in turn can save 50% of CO2 compared to conventional resins.

Even if you include the post-production processing steps, natural fiber composites have a carbon footprint that is around 50% lower than fiberglass composites.

So, what's the catch?

To put it simply: since flax fibers, for example, offer only one-fifth the tensile strength (force required to hold a weight against gravity) of, for example, carbon fibers and half the tensile strength of glass fibers, a component using flax fibers would need to weigh four times as much as an otherwise identical component made of carbon fibers in order to be equally effective. Same goes for flax fibers compared to glass fibers. Since fibers and resin are used in fiber composites in a 50/50 ratio, using more fibers also means using more resin. This not only worsens the ecological balance, but may even reverse it.

While the pure natural fiber remains CO2-neutral even when needing disposal, components made of fiber composites must be disposed of as special waste regardless of the fiber used due to their plastic content. This usually happens thermally.

Flax fibers (still) cost more than five times as much as glass fibres. Their properties are, on a basic level, similar to those of glass fibers, but cannot replace them one-to-one. In addition, it is a location-dependent natural product that requires particularly targeted quality management in order to cushion fluctuations caused by the climate.

As with so many things, cost matters. The know-how required for the cultivation of hemp, flax and the like is primarily used in the textile industry. Only a few manufacturers produce natural fibers for use in fiber composites. Their fibers are priced accordingly.

A preliminary conclusion

Applied to our example of the AquaSpeeder, the current prices for carbon, glass and natural fibers mean that an otherwise identical component that is made with flax fibers would cost six times as much as one made with glass fibers and would be 20% more expensive than one made with carbon fibers.

We are all aware that eco-friendly materials cost more. As product developers, however, we are confronted with the question of whether natural fibers are (already) worth it from an ecological and economic point of view.

Weight plays an important role in the construction of watercraft, which is why the use of natural fibers for structurally important components is currently not an option for us. But: more and more resins with biodegradable components are becoming available. It is conceivable to use bioresins in combination with natural fibers for structurally unstressed components such as panelling, upper shell and lid?

We would be happy to discuss this as well as to receive input regarding our thesis that, taking into account mutually influential factors such as density, weight, resin content and tensile strength, the use of natural fiber materials is not ecologically and economically worthwhile at the present time. Can you think of any use cases we missed in our considerations?

One year of Innovationswerkstatt: challenges and insights

Exactly one year ago, in November 2020, we ventured into the public arena with the Innovation Workshop. The timing seemed like a great challenge, especially because of the ongoing corona crisis. Now it's time to take stock.

From the beginning, our interest and focus in innovation has been on tangible products and optimizing development and production processes. Thanks to our background in design and product development, it was obvious that we would use this know-how to also support founders and medium-sized companies in particular in getting the best out of their ideas.

On the one hand, this was motivated by the desire to pass on our knowledge to young, motivated people, whom we have had the pleasure of getting to know again and again in the course of semester-long internships over the past few years. On the other hand, we observe the challenge, especially among the medium-sized companies around us, that innovation and innovative products are in demand as they've never been before. However, these companies find themselves in the predicament that innovative product development is a cost factor that represents a financial risk with no guarantee of success. Especially in these current difficult times.

Founding is a trend

And that's a good thing. We need founders with new, fresh ideas. But founders with good ideas also need support in implementing these ideas and making them suitable for series production. Nowadays, there are many aspects, e.g. sustainability and communication, that need to be considered and optimized in product development.

Thanks to our many years of experience in our workshops with a focus on design and development and our collaboration with research institutions, we are able to analyze a product efficiently and start at the right places in terms of optimization. We bring the approach of industry and the flexibility of a small company to the process.

Founders, start-ups and expectations

During 2021, we had the opportunity to test our approach as an Innovation Workshop. The startup scene turned out to be not as we had expected or envisioned. There is a lot of talk about sales and capital and less about what you ultimately want to sell. This is despite the fact that, according to the Deutscher Startup Monitor 2021 , product development comes in second among the major challenges listed by startups - after customer acquisition and before raising capital.

A clear identity is important

Our conclusion from these experiences is that we want to focus more on our industry partners in the future. We have had good experiences with investors who approach us with a product idea and thus found spin-offs from existing companies.

In addition, we see a need to differentiate ourselves from the "Maker Spaces" that we have been caught in the wave of. We are not a Maker Space, nor are we coaches for product invention, but a commercial enterprise with day-to-day business that advises and supports existing product ideas in terms of feasibility and manufacturing, as well as building prototypes. We support founders and investors to develop, design and optimize products - provided they approach us with existing ideas and concepts. We are not supported by another institution, but organize ourselves, are responsible for our own projects and are not involved in the struggle for funding that is ubiquitous in the startup scene. For joint projects, we offer the space to work on them locally.

This clear positioning on the market is something we will take with us from the first year of the Innovation Workshop into the next. Finding and verbalizing our mission statement in such clear terms was perhaps the past year's biggest challenge for us and something we will continue to work on in the future.

We are already looking forward to it.

en_GB

Category: Allgemein

Autonom fahrende Binnenschiffe?

Automobilkonzerne und Forschungsinstitute arbeiten mit Hochdruck an der Entwicklung autonomer bzw. hochautomatisierter Fahrzeuge. Dabei ist das Thema „autonomes Fahren“ aber nicht nur auf Straße und Schiene aktuell und relevant. Autonomes Fahren bietet auch in der (Binnen-)Schifffahrt großes Potenzial.

Binnenschiffe sind vielseitig einsetzbar, leistungsfähig, klimafreundlich und sicher — und für den Güterverkehr unentbehrlich. Ein modernes Gütermotorschiff kann zwischen 90 und 150 LKW ersetzen.

Entsprechend große Binnenschiffe können allerdings nicht alle Wasserstraßen befahren. Sie können auch nur Ziele anlaufen, die über entsprechende Verladevorrichtungen und Containerterminals verfügen. Der Binnenverkehr mit kleineren, flexibleren Schiffen lohnt sich hingegen oft nicht — auch, weil es an Fachpersonal mangelt.

Chancen und Hindernisse der Automatisierung

Die Automatisierung kann diesem Fachkräftemangel entgegen wirken, die Branche attraktiver und kleinere Schiffe wettbewerbsfähig machen. Durch eine verbesserte Sensorik sowie eine intelligente Wahl von Route und Geschwindigkeit, können Energie eingespart und Unfälle vermieden werden.

Woran hapert es also bei der Automatisierung im Binnenschiffsverkehr? Während im Straßenverkehr die Entwicklung des autonomen Fahrens von den Fahrzeugherstellern voran getrieben wird, haben Schiffsmotor und -raum eine vergleichsweise hohe Lebenszeit und damit einen deutlich längeren Entwicklungszyklus. Hier bedarf es externer Impulse, um die Innovation voran zu treiben.

Bedingt durch die im Vergleich zur offenen See komplexe Verkehrssituation (verzweigte Wasserstraßen, Schleusen, hohes Verkehrsaufkommen, etc.) im Binnenschiffsverkehr finden bis dato Assistenzsysteme, wie sie auf Seeschiffen gang und gäbe sind, auf Binnenschiffen kaum bis keine Verwendung.

Autonom vs. automatisiert

Obwohl die beiden Begriffe gerne gleichgestellt genutzt werden, bedeuten sie nicht das Selbe:

Autonom — Ein „autonom“ fahrendes Binnenschiff würde im Idealfall selbstbestimmt, mindestens aber eigenständig und ohne menschliches Eingreifen in der Lage sein, Fahrten durchzuführen. Es würde dabei vollumfänglich am Verkehrsgeschehen teilnehmen können, d.h. die Verkehrsvorschriften befolgen, Überholungs- und Schleusenvorgänge durchführen, seine Route den Gegebenheiten anpassen und sich an einen Zeitplan halten.

Automatisch/automatisiert — Hier lässt sich zwischen mehreren Automatisierungsstufen unterscheiden, aber in der Regel bezieht sich das automatisierte Fahren auf das reine Fahren bzw. die Propulsions- und Manövriervorgänge. Die Interaktion mit anderen Verkehrsteilnehmern wird von Menschen übernommen, ebenso die Steuerung bei Ausfall oder Störung der automatischen Steuerung.

Ferngesteuert — Ein Schiffsführer kann das Schiff von jedem beliebigen Ort aus steuern, hat aber die Gewalt über alle Vorgänge, die zur Steuerung notwendig sind. Hier bedarf es einer zuverlässigen Datenverbindung.

Es wird deutlich, dass „autonom“ oder „automatisiert“ nicht gleichbedeutend ist mit „unbemannt“. An Bord eines Schiffes fallen mehr Aufgaben an als nur die Steuerung. Da wären z.B. die Inspektion, die Wartung sowie anfallende Reparaturen. Fährt ein Schiff unbemannt, müssten solche Aufgaben entweder maschinell oder nach Anlegen von Landpersonal erledigt werden.

Der aktuelle Stand

Die größte Herausforderung bei der autonomen und automatisierten Schifffahrt ist die Interpretation hochkomplexer Verkehrsszenarien und der daraus resultierenden Handlungsoptionen. Das gilt besonders im Binnenschiffsverkehr. Überlegungen und Lösungsansätze hierzu gibt es seit ein paar Jahren. Erste Projekte laufen an, unter anderem am Entwicklungszentrum für Schiffstechnik und Transportsysteme e. V. (DST) in Duisburg, zu dessen Schwerpunkten die Erschließung neuer Potenziale für die Binnenschifffahrt gehört und mit dem wir seit Jahren eng zusammen arbeiten.

Bis dato finden solche Projekte vorwiegend auf Versuchsträgern statt, welche für die Generierung von Daten in realen Umgebungen nur mit Einschränkungen geeignet sind. Forschungsvorhaben wie ELLA und Smart & Green sollen das ändern.

Das Binnenschiff der Zukunft

ELLA ist „eine Entwicklungsplattform im Modellmaßstab für Manöver-Automatisierung“ (DST), in anderen Worten also ein batterieelektrisch betriebenes, fast 15 Meter langes Binnenschiffsmodell im Maßstab 1:6 zur Erforschung des hochautomatisierten Fahrens. Es ist geeignet für den Einsatz auf Kanälen und Seen, auf denen es für x Stunden/Tage autonom unterwegs sein kann. Durch seine Fahreigenschaften und Rumpfform sollen Beobachtungen und Untersuchungsergebnisse anders als bisher auch auf industriell genutzte Binnenschiffe übertragen werden können.

ELLA soll selbstständig An- und Ablegemanöver, Schleusendurchfahrten und Brückenpassagen planen und durchführen können. Damit würde es sich um das weltweit erste Binnenschiffsmodell handeln, welches vollständig autonom fahren kann und Erfahrungswerte in Bezug auf Parameter wie Umwelterkennung, Bahnplanung und Bahnverfolgung liefert, die auf „richtige“ Binnenschiffe übertragbar sind.

Aktuell befinden wir uns mitten in der Bauphase mit dem Ziel, ELLA im Herbst diesen Jahres an ihren zukünftigen Einsatzort auszuliefern und einsatzbereit an das DST zu übergeben. Um weitergehende Versuchsaufbauten zu ermöglichen ist ELLA modular gebaut und verfügt über alle für Binnenschiffe notwendigen Steuerorgane und Bedienelemente. Diese werden parallel zum Modellbau an der Universität Duisburg-Essen vom Fachbereich Mechatronik entwickelt. Vorder- und Hinterschiff von ELLA sind jeweils aus Glasfaserkunststoff (GFK) und ergänzen ein Mittelschiff aus Stahl. Durch einzeln entnehmbare Ballasttanks wird das mitgenommene Gewicht angepasst.

ELLAs „Heimathafen wird voraussichtlich der Schleusenpark Waltrop sein, der mit dem alten Schiffshebewerk Henrichenburg – heute LWL-Industriemuseum – demnächst nicht nur die Geschichte und die Gegenwart der Binnenschifffahrt repräsentiert, sondern mit ELLA auch die Brücke in die Zukunft schlagen wird.

Autonomes Fahren auch unter Wasser

Dabei ist ELLA für uns nicht das erste Projekt dieser Art, wenn auch das bisher größte. Schon seit 2009 arbeiten wir neben eigenen Entwicklungen zusammen mit Forschungseinrichtungen an innovativen Projekten im Zusammenhang mit Spezialwasserfahrzeugen. Erst im März diesen Jahres wurde der von uns für das Deutsche Forschungszentrum für Künstliche Intelligenz (DFKI) in Bremen gebaute autonome Wasserroboter DeepLeng im Abisko Nationalpark, Schweden, erfolgreich getestet. Ziel des Projektes Eurex-Luna ist auf lange Sicht die Erforschung des Jupitermondes Europa, wo unter einer meilendicken Eisschicht Wasser vermutet wird. Fasziniert konnten wir per Livestream beobachten, wie DeepLeng seine Probefahrt meisterte.

ELLA ist in vielerlei Hinsicht eine Herausforderung. Aber: nicht nur auf der Straße, auch auf und unter dem Wasser ist die Zukunft elektrisch, autonom und modular.

Lohnen sich naturfaserverstärkte Kunststoffe?

Nachdem wir im Oktober 2021 den von uns im Auftrag eines privaten Investors entwickelten AquaSpeeder präsentiert hatten, war für uns lange nicht Schluss. Bereits bei Beginn der Entwicklungsphase keimte die Idee, den ohnehin durch seinen elektrischen Propellerantrieb umweltfreundlichen AquaSpeeder noch weiter in dieser Hinsicht zu optimieren.

Der Rumpf des AquaSpeeders ist im Leichtbauverfahren aus Glasfaserverbundwerkstoff gebaut — ein Verfahren, bei dem Glasfasern in einer Matrix aus Epoxidharz eingebettet werden. Sie sorgen dann dafür, dass einwirkende Kräfte gezielt ins Bauteil eingeleitet werden. Das Ergebnis ist ein hochstabiler und dabei leichter Rumpf.

Allerdings haben Glasfasern den Nachteil, dass sie weder nachwachsend noch biologisch abbaubar sind — im Gegensatz zu Naturfasern.

Sind Naturfasern also die Lösung?

Sie sind in jedem Fall eine Alternative, die näher betrachtet werden kann und sollte.
Wie der Name schon sagt sind Naturfasern sowohl tierischen als auch pflanzlichen Ursprungs, wobei im Faserverbund überwiegend pflanzliche Fasern von Pflanzen wie Flachs, Hanf, Jute, Kenaf, Sisal und Abaca Verwendung finden.

Naturfaserverstärkte Kunststoffe, kurz NFK, werden bisher vor allem in der Automobilindustrie verwendet, z.B. zur Innenverkleidung von Türen. Sie weisen hohe Steifigkeiten bei geringer Dichte auf. Kurz: sie sind stark belastbar und gleichzeitig leicht.

Hier ein kleiner Dichte-Vergleich:

Stahl — 7,9 g/ccm
Glasfaser — 2,7 g/ccm
Carbonfaser — 1,8 g/ccm
Flachsfaser — 1,4 g/ccm

Da es sich bei Hanf, Flachs und Co. um nachwachsende Rohstoffe handelt, die — je nach Pflanze — auf fast allen Kontinenten angebaut werden können, kann eine stetige Versorgung garantiert werden. Sie verursachen bei der Produktion weniger CO2 und binden zudem während des Wachstums der Pflanze CO2 aus der Atmosphäre. Naturfaserverstärkte Kunststoffe bieten eine gute Thermo- und Schallisolierung. Im Verarbeitungsprozess anfallende Schnittabfälle können bis zu 100% weiterverwendet werden.

Darüber hinaus sind mittlerweile Harze verfügbar, deren Kohlenstoffanteil zu 50% aus Pflanzen gewonnen wird, wodurch wiederum 50% CO2 gegenüber herkömmlichen Harzen eingespart werden kann.

Selbst wenn man die nach der Produktion noch hinzukommenden Verarbeitungsschritte mit einbezieht, haben Naturfaserverbundwerkstoffe einen um etwa 50% geringeren CO2-Fußabdruck als Glasfaserverbundwerkstoffe.

Wo ist der Haken?

Vereinfach gesagt: da zum Beispiel Flachsfasern nur ein Fünftel der Zugkraft (Kraft, die benötigt wird, um ein Gewicht entgegen der Schwerkraft zu halten) von z.B. Carbonfasern und die halbe Zugraft von Glasfasern haben, müsste ein Bauteil, das Flachsfasern verwendet, ca. das Vierfache des sonst baugleichen Bauteils aus Carbonfasern wiegen, um gleich effektiv zu sein. Ähnlich verhält es sich mit Flachsfasern zu Glasfasern. Da Fasern und Harz im Faserverbund in einem Verhältnis von 50/50 verwendet werden, bedeutet ein Vielfaches von Fasern auch ein Vielfaches an Harz. Das verschlechtert nicht nur die Ökobilanz, sondern kehrt sie ggf. sogar um.

Während die reine Naturfaser auch bei der Entsorgung CO2-neutral bleibt, müssen Bauteile aus Faserverbund unabhängig von der verwendeten Faser bedingt durch ihren Kunststoffanteil grundsätzlich als Sondermüll entsorgt werden. In der Regel geschieht dies thermisch.

Flachsfasern kosten (noch) mehr als das Fünffache von Glasfasern. Ihre Eigenschaften reichen grundsätzlich an die der Glasfasern heran, können diese aber nicht eins zu eins ersetzen. Hinzu kommt, dass es sich um ein standortabhängiges Naturprodukt handelt, das ein besonders gezieltes Qualitätsmanagement erfordert, um witterungsbedingte Schwankungen abzufedern.

Wie bei so vielen Dingen, spielen die Kosten eine Rolle. Das Know-how, das für den Anbau von Hanf, Flachs und Co. benötigt wird, kommt primär in der Textilindustrie zum Einsatz und nur wenige Hersteller produzieren Naturfasern für den Einsatz im Faserverbund. Entsprechend fällt die Preisgestaltung aus.

Ein vorläufiges Fazit

Auf unser Beispiel angewendet bedeuten die zur Zeit gängigen Preise für Carbon-, Glas- und Naturfasern, dass ein sonst baugleiches Bauteil mit Flachsfaser im Vergleich zu Glasfaser sechsmal so viel kosten würde und 20% teurer wäre als Carbonfaser.

Wir alle sind uns bewusst, dass umweltfreundliche Materialien mehr kosten. Als Produktentwickler sehen wir uns aber mit der Frage konfrontiert, ab wann in diesem Fall Naturfasern sich aus ökologischen und ökonomischen Aspekten (schon) lohnen.

Das Gewicht spielt beim Bau von Wasserfahrzeugen eine wichtige Rolle, weshalb der Einsatz von Naturfasern bei strukturell wichtigen Bauteilen aktuell für uns nicht in Frage kommt. Aber: immer mehr Harze mit Bioanteil werden verfügbar. Es ist denkbar, bei strukturell nicht belasteten Bauteilen wie Verkleidung, Oberschale und Deckel Bioharze in Kombination mit Naturfasern zu nutzen.

Wir würden uns über eine Diskussion diesbezüglich freuen. Ebenso über Input bezüglich unserer These, dass unter Berücksichtigung von sich gegenseitig beeinflussenden Faktoren wie Dichte, Gewicht, Harzanteil und Zugkraft sich der Einsatz von Naturfaserwerkstoffen ökologisch und ökonomisch zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt nicht lohnt. Fallen euch Einsatzmöglichkeiten ein, die wir übersehen haben?

Ein Jahr Innovationswerkstatt: Herausforderungen und Erkenntnisse

Vor genau einem Jahr, im November 2020, wagten wir uns mit der Innovationswerkstatt an die Öffentlichkeit. Der Zeitpunkt schien wie eine große Herausforderung, insbesondere wegen der anhaltenden Coronakrise. Jetzt ist es an der Zeit, ein Resümee zu ziehen.

Unser Interesse und unser Schwerpunkt in Sachen Innovation galt von Anfang an den greifbaren Produkten und dem Optimieren von Entwicklungs- und Produktionsprozessen. Dank unseres Backgrounds im Design und der Produktentwicklung lag es auf der Hand, dass wir dieses Know-how nutzen, um auch insbesondere Gründer und mittelständische Unternehmen dabei zu unterstützen, das Beste aus ihren Ideen heraus zu holen.

Dahinter stand zum einen die Motivation, unser Wissen an die jungen, motivierten Menschen weiter zu geben, die wir in den vergangenen Jahren immer wieder im Rahmen von Semesterpraktika kennen lernen durften. Zum anderen sehen wir vor allem bei den mittelständischen Unternehmen um uns herum die Herausforderung, dass Innovation und innovative Produkte so gefragt sind wie nie. Diese Unternehmen sehen sich aber in der Zwickmühle, dass innovative Produktentwicklung ein Kostenfaktor ist, der insbesondere in der jetzigen schwierigen Zeit ein finanzielles Risiko ohne Garantie auf Erfolg darstellt.

Gründen liegt im Trend

Und das ist auch gut so. Wir brauchen Gründer mit neuen, frischen Ideen. Gründer mit guten Ideen brauchen aber auch Unterstützung dabei, diese Ideen umzusetzen und serientauglich zu machen. Heutzutage gibt es viele Aspekte, z.B. der Nachhaltigkeit und Kommunikation, die in der Produktentwicklung berücksichtigt und optimiert werden müssen.

Dank unserer langjährigen Erfahrung in unseren Werkstätten mit Design- und Entwicklungsschwerpunkt und unserer Zusammenarbeit mit Forschungseinrichtungen, sind wir in der Lage, ein Produkt effizient zu analysieren und an den richtigen Stellen in Sachen Optimierung anzusetzen. Wir bringen die Herangehensweise der Industrie und die Flexibilität eines kleinen Betriebes in den Prozess mit ein.

Gründer, Start-ups und Erwartungen

Im Laufe des Jahres 2021 hatten wir die Gelegenheit, unseren Ansatz als Innovationswerkstatt zu testen. Unsere Erwartungen an die Start-up Szene haben sich nicht so entwickelt, wie wir uns das vorgestellt hatten. Es wird viel über Vertrieb und Kapital geredet und weniger über das, was man letztlich vertreiben will. Und das, obwohl nach dem Deutschen Startup Monitor 2021 die Produktentwicklung unter den von Start-ups gelisteten Herausforderung auf Platz zwei kommt — nach der Kundengewinnung und vor der Kapitalbeschaffung.

Eine klare Identität ist wichtig

Unser Fazit aus diesen Erfahrungen ist, dass wir in Zukunft unsere Partner aus der Industrie stärker in den Fokus rücken wollen. Wir haben gute Erfahrungen gemacht mit Investoren, die mit einer Produktidee an uns heran treten und so Ausgründung aus bereits bestehenden Unternehmen vorantreiben.

Hinzu kommt, dass wir einen Bedarf sehen, uns von den „Maker Spaces“ zu differenzieren, in die Welle derer wir zeitlich geraten sind. Wir sind kein Maker Space und auch keine Coaches für Produktfindung, sondern ein Wirtschaftsunternehmen mit Tagesgeschäft, das bereits vorhandene Produktideen in Sachen Machbarkeit und Fertigung berät und unterstützt bzw. Prototypen anfertigt. Wir unterstützen Gründer und Investoren dabei, Produkte und entwickeln, zu designen und zu optimieren — vorhandenen Ideen und Konzepte vorausgesetzt. Wir werden nicht von einer anderen Einrichtung getragen, sondern organisieren uns selbst, sind für unsere Projekte verantwortlich und nicht involviert im Ringen um Fördergelder. Für gemeinsame Projekte bieten wir den Raum, vor Ort an diesen zu arbeiten.

Diese klare Positionierung ist etwas, das wir aus dem ersten Jahr der Innovationswerkstatt mitnehmen werden. Sie zu finden und nach außen hin zu formulieren war vielleicht die größte Herausforderung für uns und etwas, woran wir auch im kommenden Jahr arbeiten werden.

Wir freuen uns schon drauf.